Tuesday, July 7, 2015

#Daily #Current #Affairs

India, Uzbekistan ink pacts to boost cooperation
India and Uzbekistan have inked pacts to boost cooperation between their foreign offices and in the field of culture and tourism. The agreements were signed after Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his counterpart Islam Karimov, Uzbekistan President had talks on key bilateral and regional issues. This visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi  was part of his first leg of strategic tour to 5 Central Asian countries (Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan) and Russia.

Microsoft to develop digital villages, cyber-security centre in Maharashtra
Software giant Microsoft has agreed to develop ‘digital villages’ and a ‘smart MIDC’ (industrial colony) in Maharashtra under state’s flagship ‘Make In Maharashtra’ initiative. It was announced by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis after he met Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella during his visit to company’s office in Seattle, US. The location of the smart MIDC is yet to be decided. Microsoft will also set up cyber-security centre in Maharashtra’s IT hub Pune and also agreed to adopt a tribal village in Melghat district in order to provide ‘tertiary health services’. Both sides also discussed application of cloud services to MSMEs and technological solutions for implementing Right to Service Act.  Microsoft will also help state government develop ‘Safe Maharashtra’ mobile application to provide security to vulnerable people by tracking them.

US wins Women’s FIFA World Cup for 3rd time
United States (US) won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. It is overall third world cup title of US. In the World Cup final match played at Vancouver, Canada US defeated Japan by 5-2 goals score. US captain and skipper Carli Lloyd scored three goals. Lauren Holiday and Tobin Heath scored one goal each.
2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Awards
·         Golden Ball Award: Carli Lloyd (US), Amandine Henry (France), Aya Miyama (Japan).
·         Golden Boot Award: Celia Sasic (Germany), Carli Lloyd (US), Anja Mittag (Germany).
·         Golden Glove Award: Hope Solo (US).
·         Young Player Award: Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada). Fair Play Award: France.

Chile wins Copa America title 2015 of football for first time

Chile won South America’s most prestigious football trophy, the Copa America title 2015 for the first time. It is Chile’s first ever international trophy in Football. In the final match played at Santiago de Chile, the hosts defeated 14 times champion Argentina by 4-1 goals in the penalty shootout as regular match had ended in a goal-less draw. In the penalty shootout Matías Fernández, Arturo Vidal, Alexis Sanchez and Charles Aránguiz of Chilean team scored 1 goal each. While from Argentina team only Lionel Messi scored goal in the penalty shoot. It should be noted that Argentina had won Copa America title in 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993.